
   
 

   
 

Rule of 11 
 

 

The Rule of 11 is used for declarer play (or defence) at trick one. It assumes that the 

opening lead was "4th-best." 

  

It is usually used in notrump, when the lead is assumed to be the 4th-highest card in the 

suit. By subtracting from 11, the declarer can tell how many cards higher than the card 

led are in the other three hands. For example: 

  

  

 
J 9 7 

 
 

  

K 10 8 5 2 
 
 
 

  

  
Q 

  
  
 

  

  
A 6 4 3 

  
  
 

  

 

When West leads the 5, South does the following calculation: 

 11-5=6.   

So there are 6 cards higher than the 5 in the three other hands (North, East, and 

South).   

South can see 5 of those 6 cards (the A,J,9,7,6). So he knows that East has only one 

card higher than the 5.  He can then also use bridge logic. He can assume that with 

KQ10, West would have led the King. So, probably East's one card above the 5 is the 

King, Queen, or 10. South will probably play the 9 (or 7) from dummy, in the hopes that 

East's high card is the king or queen (twice as likely as the ten). 
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A defender can also use the Rule of 11.  Say that partner leads the 7 in this situation: 

  

  
  

K 6 5 
  
 

  

  
  

Q 10 8 7 
  
 

  

 
  

A J 9 2 
  
 

     

Declarer plays low from dummy. What should East do? 

Assuming 4th-best, East uses the Rule of 11 to get 11-7=4. 

East knows there are 4 cards higher than the card led in the North, East and South 

hands. East can see all 4 of them (A,K,J,9). He knows that South has no card higher 

than the 7, and accordingly lets the 7 win the first trick so that West can continue the 

suit. 

  

 

 

Partner 

 

 

 4  
Declarer  Dummy 

 ?  T96 
 You  
 KJ5  

 

Partner leads the 4. Assuming this is a fourth-best lead, how many spades are in declarer's hand 

which are higher? 

1. Partner's spot card is the 4, so 11 - 4 = 7. 

2. Dummy contains three spades higher than the 4, so 7 - 3 = 4. 

3. You hold three spades higher than the 4, so 4 - 3 = 1. 

Therefore declarer holds exactly one card higher than the 4 if partner's lead was 

fourth-best. The full suit distribution around the table: 

 

 

Partner 

 

 

 Q874  
Declarer  Dummy 

A32  T96 
 You  
 KJ5  
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How do we know partner’s lead is 4th highest? We will need to judge whether 

partner’s lead is likely to be 4th highest by looking at the card led and the other cards 

we can see. The auction is also very important to help decide whether the lead is likely 

to be 4th highest. Consider these two auctions, both with a lead of the 6 of clubs 

 

 North  East  South  West                                             North  East  South  West 

                    1NT    Pass                                                1S    Pass    2D     Pass 

 3NT   Pass   Pass  Pass                                                2H   Pass     3NT  Pass  Pass                                                                                                    

In auction 1 the 6C is very likely to be 4th highest. In auction 2 we can’t be sure 6C is  

4th highest, West is likely to choose a club lead from various combinations e.g. from 

863 simply because it is the unbid suit. 

 

Why 11?  

The cards are numbered from 2 to 14, with the Ace being 14. 

  2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 , J (11), Q (12), K (13), A (14)  

If partner leads his 4th highest he has 3 higher cards 14 - 3 = 11      

 

 

This information is quite useful in deciding which card to play on the trick and how to 

play the suit if you take the trick. If the answer does not make sense, the card led 

may not be fourth best!  
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